Here Comes Goodbye – Rascal Flatts

These last 2 1/2 months have sure been a roller coaster for me.  I finished my music therapy internship, “officially” graduated from college, moved everything out of my house and into storage, moved to Iowa for a temporary job and have interviewed for the permanent position at the hospital.  Life has sure felt overwhelming though, and I’ve questioned God so many times about the “not giving me more than I can handle” promise.  I feel like he sure has tested my limits, but I’m a much stronger person today than I was 2 months ago and incredibly changed from the person I was 6 months ago.  Blessings have come through raindrops and healing through my tears.  I still have so much to be thankful for.

This Rascal Flatts song was one I had forgotten about until it came on the radio yesterday.  I didn’t realize that I would be saying “goodbye” this summer, but I know that God has amazing things planned for me and my future…I’m just waiting patiently.  My favorite verse comes to mind…Micah 6:8 – He has showed you, O man, what is good. And what does the Lord require of you? To act justly, and to love mercy and to walk humbly with your God.

Here Comes Goodbye – Rascal Flatts

I can hear the truck tires coming up the gravel road
And it’s not like her to drive that slow, nothing’s on the radio
Footsteps on the front porch, I hear my doorbell
She usually comes right in, now I can tell.

Here comes goodbye
Here comes the last time
Here comes the start of every sleepless night
The first of every tear I’m gonna cry
Here comes the pain
Here comes me wishing things had never changed
And she was right here in my arms tonight
But here comes goodbye.

I can hear her say “I love you” like it was yesterday
And I can see it written on her face that she had never felt this way
One day I thought I’d see her with her daddy by her side
And violins would play Here Comes The Bride.

But here comes goodbye
Here comes the last time
Here comes the start of every sleepless night
The first of every tear I’m gonna cry
Here comes the pain
Here comes me wishing things had never changed
And she was right here in my arms tonight
But here comes goodbye.

Why’s it have to go from good to gone?
Before the lights turn on
Yeah, and you’re left alone
Oh! But here comes goodbye.

Here comes goodbye
Here comes the last time
Here comes the start of every sleepless night
The first of every tear I’m gonna cry
Here comes the pain
Here comes me wishing things had never changed
And she was right here in my arms tonight
But here comes goodbye.

Leave a Reply

