Before He Cheats – Carrie Underwood

This is one of those songs that makes me laugh when it pops up on my playlist.  Having a little bit of revenge is definitely something I think about often, but not something I would ever actually do.  I can lay in bed at night though, and imagine the whole story as I think through the words of this song – the “other girls,” the “smashing of the headlights.”  Often, I’m just thinking about all the things I would love to say and do that would cause him as much pain as he’s caused me.  But – my goal is to get to the end of every day and have no regrets.  And I’m proud of myself for that.  I’m a much stronger person now than I’ve ever been, and I know that soon, I’ll be able to “move on.”  I also know that – “the next time that he cheats – oh, you know it won’t be on me!”  🙂

Before He Cheats – Carrie Underwood

Right now he’s probably slow dancing with a bleached-blond tramp,
and she’s probably getting frisky,
Right now, he’s probably buying her some fruity little drink
’cause she can’t shoot whiskey,
Right now, he’s probably up behind her with a pool-stick
showing her how to shoot a combo, and he don’t know…

Chorus:
That I dug my key into the side of his
pretty little souped up 4-wheel drive,
carved my name into his leather seats.
I took a Louisville slugger to both headlights,
slashed a hole in all 4 tires
Maybe next time he’ll think before he cheats.

Right now, she’s probably up singing some
white-trash version of Shania karaoke,
Right now, she’s probably saying “I’m drunk”
and he’s a thinking that he’s gonna get lucky,
Right now, he’s probably dabbing on
3 dollars worth of that bathroom polo, and he don’t know…   Chorus

I might’ve saved a little trouble for the next girl,
’cause the next time that he cheats,
Oh, you know it won’t be on me!   Chorus

Leave a Reply

