Better Than a Hallelujah – Amy Grant

I believe that happiness is a choice.  I also believe that if you’re not happy with what you have, you’ll never be happy with what you want.  Something I’ve learned these past few months is just how important honesty is.  It’s so important to be completely honest with the people you love.  I’ve also been working on being completely honest with myself.  I’ve also spent some time being completely honest with God.  When things began to “fall apart” for me about 5 months ago, I was really angry with God.  How could he let this happen to me?  And WHY!?  What good could possibly come from this situation?!  I had so many questions, and so few answers.  I just had to trust Him.  Throughout this time, I’ve been able to THANK God for the blessings in my life.  I can THANK him for my wonderful family and friends, for my new job, for a great new place to live —- but I haven’t been able to PRAISE him.  I couldn’t (and still have trouble) uttering the words: God you’re amazing, praise the Lord, whatever.  But…this song I heard at Women of Faith really touched my heart.  When I’m pouring out my miseries to God, he just hears a melody.  The HONEST cries of my breaking heart may be better than a “hallelujah” sometimes…

Better Than a Hallelujah  Amy Grant

God loves a lullaby
In a mothers tears in the dead of night
Better than a Hallelujah sometimes.
God loves a drunkards cry,
The soldiers plea not to let him die
Better than a Hallelujah sometimes.

Chorus:

We pour out our miseries
God just hears a melody
Beautiful the mess we are
The honest cries of breaking hearts
Are better than a Hallelujah.

The woman holding on for life,
The dying man giving up the fight
Are better than a Hallelujah sometimes
The tears of shame for what’s been done,
The silence when the words won’t come
Are better than a Hallelujah sometimes.  Chorus

Better than a church bell ringing,
Better than a choir singing out,singing out.  Chorus

Leave a Reply

