Skyscraper – Demi Lovato

Usually when the adolescents and young adults in my music therapy groups give me requests for certain songs, they usually don’t make the cut for being “hospital appropriate.”  Even as I was listening to the radio tonight on my way home from work the songs that I heard were “Wish You Were Here – Avril Lavigne” and “Sexy and I Know It – LMFAO.  Seriously!?  That’s the choices I have when I want to use a current song in one of my sessions?!  Sheesh.  Anyway.  I had one of my patients request this song this week, and not only does it qualify for “appropriate” in the hospital, I also felt like it was a song that was meaningful for me as well.  Not gonna lie – this week sucked.  I was completely overwhelmed at work and I’m still struggling to catch up.  Even today, I was at work from 7:30-6:30, and still brought several hours of work home with me.  The problem is, I don’t know if it was actually work that stressed me out, or the fact that I’ve been completely drained because of my personal life.

The most frustrating part about these last several months is that I feel like my life and the circumstances I was put through were decided by someone else.  I wanted my husband to be honest.  I wanted my husband to own up to his poor choices.  I wanted my husband to allow me the chance to move back to Kansas City and work on reconciling our marriage.  I wasn’t given that choice.  I wasn’t given a chance.  Although it feels like he “took everything I had” and “broke me” to the core, I will rise like a skyscraper.  Because I have Christ leading my life, I have a new focus and strength.  I’ve said this before, but I trust that God has some amazing plans for my life…I’m just working on making myself a stronger and more beautiful person than I’ve ever been before.

Skyscraper – Demi Lovato

Skies are crying, I am watching
Catching tear drops in my hands
Only silence, as it’s ending
Like we never had a chance
Do you have to make me feel like
There’s nothing left of me?

Chorus:
You can take everything I have
You can break everything I am
Like I’m made of glass
Like I’m made of paper
Go on and try to tear me down
I will be rising from the ground
Like a skyscraper, like a skyscraper.

As the smoke clears, I awaken
And untangle you from me
Would it make you, feel better
To watch me while I bleed?
All my windows still are broken
But I’m standing on my feet.  Chorus

Go run, run, run
I’m gonna stay right here, watch you disappear
Yeah oh
Go run, run, run
Yeah, it’s a long way down
But I am closer to the clouds up here.  Chorus

One thought on “Skyscraper – Demi Lovato

Leave a Reply

