Say Goodbye – Mandisa

Not forgiving is like drinking poison and waiting for the other person to die.  I choose to forgive the people that have hurt me.  I choose not to waste my time thinking about what could have or should have been.  A year ago today, I was a hot mess.  I was depressed, working 60 hours a week, and terribly unhappy doing so.  I wasn’t reading my Bible, I was barely going to church and I wasn’t living my life according to God’s word.  Not today.  Although tomorrow would have been our 3-year anniversary, I’m not sad.  I’m gloriously happy in myself and the person I’ve become.

It’s fairly often now when friends, family and co-workers say to me:  “Wow – you look great today,” or “You just look so happy – like you’re glowing.”  I am.  I love my new life.  I have a beautiful little house all decorated for Christmas, (and it’s sparkling clean I might add!)  I have a great job using music to comfort and encourage people going through rough times.  Most importantly – I have a RELATIONSHIP with Christ.  That’s a lot to be thankful for!  So…I’m no longer going to let my past bother me or weigh me down – I’m saying goodbye to the “old” Meredith.  One of my favorite quotes is this:  “Don’t spend time worrying about your past, because that’s not the direction you’re going.”  I just think that’s so true.  I’m saying goodbye to a past that I can’t undo, to the pain I’ve been walkin’ through and saying hello to a brand new day and a brand new life.  Forgiveness is the first step in that process.

1 Corinthians 7:17 MSG – “And don’t be wishing you were someplace else or with someone else. Where you are right now is God’s place for you. Live and obey and love and believe right there. God, not your marital status, defines your life.”  I’m living my life NOW like I should have been these past few years…it feels so good.

Say Goodbye – Mandisa

To the voice to the liar in the mirror
Sayin’ you can’t ever change
To the guilt that’s sittin’ on your shoulder
Always keepin’ you wrapped in chains
To the past that you can’t undo
To the pain that you’re walkin’ through
To the small and the big mistakes
This is what love wants to say.

Chorus:
Say goodbye, say goodbye
To the one that used to be
Say goodbye, say goodbye
Every day is a brand new mercy
Hello, hello
This is where it starts now
Hello, hello
Everything can turn around
In a moment, here’s your moment
You can say goodbye.

There is grace that you can’t imagine
There is love that you can’t outrun
There is peace you can hold on to
When your world is comin’ undone
You don’t have to give into the fear
Don’t have to have let your story stop here
And when the hand tries to pull you back
You don’t have to go back, you don’t have to go back.  Chorus

To everything that breaks you down
It doesn’t have to define you now
Jesus came to take it all away.  Chorus

Leave a Reply

