Kokomo – The Beach Boys

Well…it’s been a wonderful summer so far, but it’s not over yet!  I’ve got THREE amazing trips planned and I’ll be leaving for the first one soon!  (I changed the lyrics of the destination just a bit, but I’m super excited about each line of this song!)

“Jamaica off the Florida Keys
There’s a place called Montego Bay
That’s where you wanna go to get away from it all.
Bodies in the sand
Tropical drink melting in your hand
I’ll be falling in love
With the rhythm of a steel drum band
Down in Montego Bay.”

First stop of the vacation series….JAMAICA!!  I am EXTREMELY excited to be taking this trip with my family.  We’re staying at an all-inclusive resort on the beach, and we’ll be taking all kinds of fun trips and excursions.  We can’t wait!!  So…this song today is all about our 8 upcoming days in Montego Bay!  I’ll have a “drink in my hand, layin’ in the sand, listening to the rhythm of a steel drum band”…it’s going to be glorious.

Next…I’ve got two work trips planned, (thank you UIHC!)  First stop…NEW YORK CITY!  We’ll be staying right on Times Square in downtown Manhattan.  I can’t wait!  I’ll be doing training at the Counseling Skills for Music Therapists Institute during the day and will be hitting the town in the evenings.  I’ve also actually never been to New York before, and since we’re flying in to Newark, NJ, this will make 36 states I’ve visited in the US! Yay!

I’ve also got a great trip planned to CHICAGO as well for this year’s National Music Therapy Conference.  I’ll have the opportunity to hang out with several great friends and learn great new techniques to use with my patients.  This girl is EXCITED!

It’s amazing to think that while I’m in Jamaica, I’ll have my one-year anniversary of working here at UIHC.  It’s been an amazing first year in Iowa, and I’m blessed to have such a wonderful job that affords me the opportunity to take time off and splurge a bit on these trips.  I’m so blessed to have such a wonderful life…

Kokomo – The Beach Boys

Aruba, Jamaica ooo I wanna take ya
Bermuda, Bahama come on pretty mama
Key Largo, Montego baby why don’t we go.

Jamaica off the Florida Keys
There’s a place called Kokomo
That’s where you wanna go to get away from it all.
Bodies in the sand
Tropical drink melting in your hand
We’ll be falling in love
To the rhythm of a steel drum band
Down in Kokomo.

Chorus:
Aruba, Jamaica ooo I wanna take ya
To Bermuda, Bahama come on pretty mama
Key Largo, Montego baby why don’t we go
Down to Kokomo. We’ll get there fast
And then we’ll take it slow
That’s where we wanna go
Way down to Kokomo.

To Martinique, that Monserrat mystique
We’ll put out to sea
And we’ll perfect our chemistry
By and by we’ll defy a little bit of gravity.
Afternoon delight
cocktails and moonlit nights
That dreamy look in your eye
Give me a tropical contact high
Way down in Kokomo.  Chorus

Port Au Prince I wanna catch a glimpse
Everybody knows
A little place like Kokomo
Now if you wanna go
And get away from it all
Go down to Kokomo.  Chorus x3

Leave a Reply

