Cheatin’ – Sara Evans

It’s hard to believe that summer is almost over. It’s been so busy, but also soo wonderful! Now…it’s time for fall, which is also going to be a really busy time for me with lots of trips and events, but it also means Hawkeye Football! Unfortunately, we lost our first game last weekend against Iowa State, but hopefully we will redeem ourselves this weekend when we play UNI. I sure hope so – because I have a ticket to my first Iowa game! Life is great…

Speaking of last weekend though, it was especially fun because the first home game of the season also meant Fry Fest was taking place (which is a big celebration with an outdoor concert every year). This year, Lee Brice and Sara Evans performed! It was a great performance and I had a wonderful (yet very muddy) time with awesome friends! Sara Evans sang several great songs, including this one that I had never heard before, but one that I wish I had heard a long time ago! This song just seems to tell my story really well. There have been times when I just want to ask my ex how it all worked out for him after I left…the paper plates, the ol’ beat-up car, and even “whats-her-name.” My favorite lyrics are: “You’ve done your sowing, now you can do your reaping. Maybe you should’ve thought about that…when you were cheatin’.”

Cheatin’ – Sara Evans

You say your every day
Is a bad dream that keeps repeatin’
Maybe you should’ve thought about that
When you were cheatin’.

How do you like that furnished room
The bed, the chair, the table
The TV picture comes and goes
Too bad you don’t have cable
How do you like that paper plate
And those pork ‘n’ beans you’re eatin’
Maybe you should’ve thought about that
When you were cheatin’.

How do you like that beat-up car
I think it’s fair we traded
Your pick-up truck is running fine
It’s a cozy ride for datin’
Yes, I’ve been out a time or two
And found the comfort I’ve been needin’
Maybe you should’ve thought about that
When you were cheatin’.

You made your bed and you’re out of mine
You lie awake and I sleep just fine
You’ve done your sowing
Now you can do your reaping
Maybe you should’ve thought about that
When you were cheatin’.

What became of what’s-her-name
After she spent all your money
Did she leave you like you left me
Sometimes life is funny
But I’ll be glad to take you back
Just as soon as I stop breathing

Maybe you should’ve thought about that
Maybe you should’ve thought about that
Maybe you should’ve thought about that
When you were cheatin’
When you were cheatin’.

Leave a Reply

