Hall of Fame – The Script

I love this music video.  It tells a great story.  And it makes you think – What do you want to be known for?  What do you want people to remember you by?  Your career?  Being a good friend?  Having a good character?

I’ve used this song several times this week in my music therapy sessions.  I’ve had my patients watch the music video a couple times focusing on just the video first, then the lyrics of the song.  Then we discuss the lyrics and what they mean.  Next, I have them make a picture/word collage with magazine clippings that have words that describe themselves as a person, and what they want to be remembered for.  I think they have enjoyed the activity just as much as I have, and it’s been great to make my own collage with what my goals are for my life.

So as I’ve been thinking about my own life, I can’t help but think about the meaning that this song has for me as well.  A year ago today, I was in a very different place than I am right now.  Hearing this song has made me think a lot about my own life…What do I want to be remembered for?  Looking back at my blog post from a year ago – I’m proud of where I’ve come and what I’ve accomplished in this year.  It’s only through God’s grace that I’m even here today and able to share about my journey. I’m very blessed.

Hall of Fame – The Script
Yeah, You could be the greatest
You could be the best
You could be the King Kong banging on your chest
You could beat the world
You could be the beat the war
You could talk to God, go banging on his door
You can throw your hands up
You can be the clock
You can move a mountain
You can break rocks
You can be a master
Don’t wait for luck
Dedicate yourself and you can find yourself.

Chorus:
Standing in the hall of fame
And the world’s gonna know your name
Cause you burn with the brightest flame
And the world’s gonna know your name
And you’ll be on the walls of the hall of fame.

You could go the distance
You could run the mile
You could walk straight through hell with a smile
You could be the hero
You could get the gold
Breaking all the records that thought never could be broke
Do it for your people
Do it for your pride
Never gonna know if you never even try
Do it for your country
Do it for your name
Cause there’s gonna be a day.  Chorus

Be a champion, Be a champion, Be a champion, Be a champion
On the walls of the hall of fame.

Be students, Be teachers, Be politicians, Be preachers
Be believers, Be leaders, Be astronauts, Be champions, Be truth seekers
Be students, Be teachers, Be politicians, Be preachers
Be believers, Be leaders, Be astronauts, Be champions.  Chorus

(You can be a champion) You could be the greatest
(You can be a champion) You can be the best
(You can be a champion) You can be the King Kong banging on your chest

(You can be a champion) You could beat the world
(You can be a champion) You could beat the war
(You can be a champion) You could talk to God, go banging on his door

(You can be a champion) You can throw your hands up
(You can be a champion) You can be the clock
(You can be a champion) You can move a mountain
(You can be a champion) You can break rocks

(You can be a champion) You can be a master
(You can be a champion) Don’t wait for luck
(You can be a champion) Dedicate yourself and you can find yourself
(You can be a champion) Standing in the hall of fame.

Leave a Reply

