Sovereign – Chris Tomlin

I’m leaving to climb through these mountains in Peru in less than a week.Salkantay

With the goal of making it here… Machu Picchu. One of the new seven wonders of the world.

Peru-travel-salkantay-hike16-600x450

I’ll be backpacking for a week to make it to the top with 3 wonderful friends. No showers…5 days…72 kilometers (45 miles)…15,092 feet above sea level…and amazing scenery and memories along the way. So excited!

Camping

The words in this song: “Sovereign in the mountain air, sovereign on the ocean floor, with me in the calm, with me in the storm. Sovereign in my greatest joy, sovereign in my deepest cry, with me in the dark, with me at the dawn. In Your everlasting arms, all the pieces of my life, from beginning to the end, I can trust You. In Your never failing love, You work everything for good, God whatever comes my way, I will trust You.” God whatever comes my way, I will trust You. I have no doubt that on the climb up the mountain, I will be singing this song to myself every step of the way. (Or maybe I’ll be singing outloud. You never quite know what to expect!)

I can’t describe though how truly excited I am for this adventure. 3 engineers and a music therapist traveling through Peru. It’s going to be awesome. 🙂 I’m planning to take a ton of pictures which will all be up on Facebook after we get back! The best part is that I’m checking so many things off my bucket list at once. 1) Seeing South America…(only two more continents to see before I’ve been to them all!) 2) I’ve never done a serous backpacking trip like this before. It’s going to be so incredible! 3) Seeing another one of the 7 wonders of the world. This makes 3! (Petra, Pyramids of Giza, and now Machu Picchu!)

So I could talk about this trip all day since there are so many wonderful things we have planned! A wonderful family to stay with in Lima, tours of the city, outdoor markets in Cusco, dancing on a mountain…I could go on and on. But…for now, I’ll just have to keep everyone waiting. Stories to come soon!

Sovereign – Chris Tomlin
Sovereign in the mountain air
Sovereign on the ocean floor
With me in the calm
With me in the storm.

Sovereign in my greatest joy
Sovereign in my deepest cry
With me in the dark
With me at the dawn.

In Your everlasting arms
All the pieces of my life
From beginning to the end
I can trust you.

In Your never failing love
You work everything for good
God whatever comes my way
I will trust You.

Sovereign in the mountain air
Sovereign on the ocean floor
With me in the calm
With me in the storm.

Sovereign in my greatest joy
Sovereign in my deepest cry
With me in the dark
With me at the dawn.

In Your everlasting arms
All the pieces of my life
From beginning to the end
I can trust You.

In Your never failing love
You work everything for good
God whatever comes my way
I will trust You.
God whatever comes my way
I will trust You.

All my hopes
All I need
Held in Your hands.

All my life
All of me
Held in Your hands.

All my fears
All my dreams
Held in Your hands.

All my hopes
All I need
Held in Your hands.

All my life
All of me
Held in Your hands.

All my fears
All my dreams
Held in Your hands.

In Your everlasting arms
All the pieces of my life
From beginning to the end
I can trust You.

In Your never failing love
You work everything for good
God whatever comes my way
I will trust You.
God whatever comes my way
I will trust You.
God whatever comes my way
I will trust You.

Leave a Reply

