Say Something – A Great Big World & Christina Aguilera

Recently, I’ve been listening to this song a lot.  It just happens that within these last few weeks, I’ve been with multiple patients while they’ve taken their last breath.  As a music therapist, being present at the time of death is a powerful experience.  I’m not ever worried about the medical process, but only focused on supporting the family during that time.  It’s often that I see a little wife holding her husbands hand, tearfully asking for him to just “say something.”  To wake up.  To come back.  To resume their life together.  Sadly, that’s not always an option.  Death is inevitable for all of us.  Although we don’t typically use the language that the family is “giving up,” on their loved one, it is often the perception of family that they can’t “do” anything to change the outcome of the situation.  That’s why it’s important that we make the most of our lives each and every day.  For many patients, once they are given the news that death is coming soon, many use the opportunity to reconnect with their faith and with their family.  Music can be the tool that supports them in that connection.  Connecting emotionally.  Connecting physically.  I have a really incredible job.

Say Something – A Great Big World & Christina Aguilera
Say something, I’m giving up on you
I’ll be the one, if you want me to
Anywhere, I would’ve followed you
Say something, I’m giving up on you.

And I am feeling so small
It was over my head
I know nothing at all
And I will stumble and fall
I’m still learning to love
Just starting to crawl.

Chorus:
Say something, I’m giving up on you
I’m sorry that I couldn’t get to you
Anywhere, I would’ve followed you
Say something, I’m giving up on you.

And I will swallow my pride
You’re the one that I love
And I’m saying goodbye.  Chorus

Say something, I’m giving up on you
Say something.

Leave a Reply

