I Was Here – Beyoncé

As I reflect back on 2013, it’s incredible to think about everything I’ve done and been a part of this last year.  For those of you who have been a part of this last year with me, thank you.  I’ve learned what it means to have a life full of adventure, passion, love, and joy.  That’s also what this song is about for me.  Every word speaks to my heart – and what I hope my life is about.  “I want to say I lived each day, until I died, and know that I meant something in, somebody’s life.  The hearts I have touched, will be the proof that I leave, that I made a difference, and this world will see.  I was here.  I lived, I loved.  I was here.  I did, I’ve done, everything that I wanted and it was more than I thought it would be.  I will leave my mark so everyone will know.  I was here.”  Whether it’s the patients at my job, or the people I meet on the opposite side of the world, I want everyone to see Christ in my life.  I want to make a difference.  For the first time in several years, I’m not making a list of “resolutions” to start off 2014.  Instead, I’m going to remember this song, and keep these lyrics in my pocket each and every day.  I want to begin every morning by thinking:  How can my life be an example of Christ and the Gospel today?

I Was Here – Beyoncé
I wanna leave my footprints on the sands of time
Know there was something that, meant something that I left behind
When I leave this world, I’ll leave no regrets
Leave something to remember, so they won’t forget

Chorus:
I was here
I lived, I loved
I was here
I did, I’ve done everything that I wanted
And it was more than I thought it would be
I will leave my mark so everyone will know
I was here.

I want to say I lived each day, until I died
And know that I meant something in, somebody’s life
The hearts I have touched, will be the proof that I leave
That I made a difference, and this world will see.  Chorus x2

I just want them to know
That I gave my all, did my best
Brought someone some happiness
Left this world a little better just because

I was here.  Chorus

I was here.

Leave a Reply

