Let it Go – Demi Lovato

After my trip to Peru last August, I’ve done a lot of soul searching.  I’ve really been digging deep to think about what in my life is most important?  What do I enjoy doing?  What am I involved in that isn’t fulfilling for me?  There are several people who know the details of a challenge I’ve been going through at work these last several months.  Although there’s still a lot of change happening that can be unsettling, I truly desire to get to a place where I can just “let it go.”  For a really long time, I felt like each day I was living out these lyrics:  “Don’t let them in, don’t let them see, be the good girl you always had to be.  Conceal, don’t feel, don’t let them know.”  But…”Well now they know.”

Now, I feel like these lyrics describe how I truly feel:  “And the fears that once controlled me can’t get to me at all.  Up here in the cold thin air I finally can breathe.  I know I left a life behind but I’m too relieved to grieve.  Let it go, let it go, can’t hold it back anymore.  Let it go, let it go, turn my back and slam the door.”  I will no longer let someone control my self-esteem, or make me believe I’m not good at what I do.  I now see the importance of standing up for myself.  Even in this last week, I sat in a meeting where my heart had been hurt again with the same words I had heard before.  I’m not doing that any more.  In that meeting I didn’t have enough courage to stand up and walk out, even though my head was thinking I should.  I don’t want to do that any more.  It’s not worth it.  I don’t care what this one person thinks about me.  I don’t care about being friends, because my identity isn’t in this friendship at work, it’s in Christ.  And that relationship is way more important to me than this one.  My goal is not to be rude.  I don’t want to be unkind.  I also don’t want to be manipulated and bullied any more.  I’m done.  My goal is to have a cordial relationship, and nothing more.  Each morning I just need to listen to this song again, and do my best to just let it go.

Let it Go – Demi Lovato
Let it go, let it go
Can’t hold it back anymore
Let it go, let it go
Turn my back and slam the door.

The snow glows white on the mountain tonight
Not a footprint to be seen.
A kingdom of isolation and it looks like I’m the queen.
The wind is howling like this swirling storm inside.
Couldn’t keep it in, heaven knows I tried.

Don’t let them in, don’t let them see,
Be the good girl you always had to be
Conceal, don’t feel, don’t let them know.
Well now they know.

Chorus:
Let it go, let it go
Can’t hold it back anymore
Let it go, let it go
Turn my back and slam the door
And here I stand and here I’ll stay
Let it go, let it go
The cold never bothered me anyway.

It’s funny how some distance makes everything seem small
And the fears that once controlled me can’t get to me at all.
Up here in the cold thin air I finally can breathe.
I know I left a life behind but I’m too relieved to grieve.  Chorus

Standing frozen
In the life I’ve chosen.
You won’t find me.
The past is all behind me
Buried in the snow.

Let it go, let it go
Can’t hold it back anymore.

Let it go, let it go
Turn my back and slam the door
And here I stand, and here I’ll stay
Let it go, let it go
The cold never bothered me anyway, yeah.
(Na na, na na, na na na na) [4x]
Let it go
Na, na.
Here I stand.
Let it go, let it go
Let it go.

Leave a Reply

