Anchor Me – The Tenors

“Hold me still and hold me close, until it all passes away.  I beg you not to let go.
All I really have to know is that you are here, and I am not alone.”

This song was a song I listened to a lot during my last week at sea while I was on a Caribbean cruise with my family.  The lyrics “When sadness crashes like an ocean, when fear is deeper than the sea.  When I am swallowed by the darkness, will you come and anchor me” seemed to stand out so much.  Last week I had a lot of time to reflect on my life and what the future may hold for me.  I have such amazing and supportive people in my life, which I am so very grateful for.  I can’t wait to see what life has for me next…

Anchor Me – The Tenors
Oh, my soul is troubled
Oh, my will is worn
Tired and discouraged
Trampled on and torn.

Every breath a battle
Every step a war
My heart, a broken vessel
This night, an angry storm.

Chorus:
When sadness crashes like an ocean
When fear is deeper than the sea
When I am swallowed by the darkness
Will you come and anchor me?

I cannot see through this
Can you be my eyes?
I’m completely hopeless
Can you shine a light?

I have no more strength left
Can you stand and fight
I’m dying in this doubt
Can you be my faith tonight?  Chorus

Hold me still and hold me close
Until it all passes away
I beg you not to let go
All I really have to know
Is that you are here
And I am not alone.  Chorus

Leave a Reply

